When updating a published notebook which is shared by link, the “shared by link” option is disabled automatically. I assume this is on purpose to ensure security-by-default. But the “share by link” is quite hidden. If I have to update the notebook 3 times, I am always forgetting to re-enable the shared by link option at least once. I think it should be safe to keep the published notebook accessible also after updating it or to add the option directly to the dialog after publishing it to avoid another click.
Thanks for the remark, we will think how to make it more convenient.
With the latest build the sharing status is no longer reset to “disabled” when you update the published notebook. We might improve the UI later.